The Ghost Road eBook ☆ The Ghost ePUB ☆

Ghosts, a family curse, buried secrets and two girls who have to figure it all out A new book from an acclaimed author, for fans of Coraline, Doll Bones and The Night GardenerFor the first time, Ruth is heading to Newfoundland to stay with family she s never met instead of spending the summer traveling with her dad When she arrives, she finds Newfoundland is very different from her life in Toronto people there are much friendly, but also superstitious, believing in ghosts and The Sight and family curses Ruth s cousin Ruby is also staying for the summer, and the two discover they have a lot in common they both lost their moms when they were two years old, they re the same age and they even like the same food But while Ruby believes in spirits and fairies, Ruth believes in science and cold, hard factsWhen they find ominous information on some tombstones in the local cemetery, Ruth and Ruby start investigating their family s past and discover that twin girls are born in every generation, and every set of twins dies young, leaving their children without mothers What s , one of the twins always has The Sight and can see the Ghost Road that leads to the mysterious lost settlement of Slippers Cove What happened there What does it have to do with their family And who is the ghostly presence that keeps visiting Ruth late at night The answers lie somewhere along the Ghost Road if they can only find it The Ghost Road


About the Author: Charis Cotter

Charis Cotter is a writer, editor and storyteller living in Newfoundland She grew up in Cabbagetown and Parkdale in downtown Toronto After taking a degree in English at Glendon College, York University, she went on to study acting at The Drama Studio in London, England After several years as an actor, she moved into publishing, where she has been working as a freelance editor and writer forthan 20 years.In 2005 Charis won the Heritage Toronto Award of Excellence for her book, Toronto Between the Wars Life in the City 1919 1939 Since then she has written several critically acclaimed children s books, including a series of biographies about extraordinary children and an illustrated book about international ghosts Born to Write The Remarkable Lives of Six Famous Authors was a finalist for the 2010 Norma Fleck Award for Canadian Children s Non fiction Charis first toured schools as an actor in a Young People s Theatre production of W O Mitchell s Jake and the Kid Her favourite part of the show was interacting with the students during the question period after the play Today Charis is known for her lively school presentations, based on her books She has toured Canada from coast to coast, entertaining children with her alter egos Queen Elizabeth II complete with gown, crown and royal attitude and the Scottish Silky Ghost, who dusts everything in sight, including children Her fascination with ghosts has led her to many far corners of Newfoundland, looking for ghost stories.In 2013 Charis founded her own publishing company, Baccalieu Books, to publish The Ghosts of Baccalieu She created this book with the students from Tricon Elementary School in Bay de Verde, with funding from ArtsSmarts Students contributed drawings and traditional ghost stories collected from the community Charis has sold The Ghosts of Baccalieu to libraries, bookstores and the general public, with a portion of the revenue going back to Tricon Elementary Charis continues to do ghost storytelling workshops at schools, community centres and book festivals She reviews children s books for the National Reading Campaign, Quill and Quire and The Canadian Children s Book News The Swallow A Ghost Story, was published by Tundra Books Random House in September 2014 This spooky gothic novel, set in Cabbagetown, Toronto, in the 1960s, is partially based on Charis s childhood experiences living behind a cemetery The German translation rights have been purchased by cbjVerlag Random House Germany, who will publish it as Das Unsichtbare M dchen The Invisible Girl The school presentation for The Swallow features a theatrical performance of an excerpt from the book and a ghost story writing workshop ArtsSmarts is sponsored by the Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council and the Department of Education through the Cultural Connections Strategy.



10 thoughts on “The Ghost Road

  1. says:

    3.5 stars Ruth goes to stay with her Aunt for the summer After her mother died Ruth would spend the summer with her father whose job as a botanist would take them to other countries This year her dad is taking his new wife Ruth s s


  2. says:

    This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers To view it, click here When Ruth spends her summer in Newfoundland visiting her deceased mother s family as her father has recently remarried and is on his honeymoon with his ne


  3. says:

    Canadian writer Charis Cotter starts out The Ghost Road with a strong description of the Maritimes in Canada She describes a lovely setting that includes the natural area, cute lighthouses, cottage type housing and the coastal shore One


  4. says:

    MY REVIEW 4 5 STARS I received an ARC in exchange for a honest review from Penguin Random House Canada Do not judge a book by it s cover nor should you ever judge a book by it s direct audience age I must admit when I first received the cop


  5. says:

    I was kindly provided with a review copy from the publisher thanks to LibraryThing.Review can also be found on my blog.I have mixed feelings about this book On the one hand, it was well written and fairly interesting On the other hand, I didn


  6. says:

    Another fantastic, atmospheric ghost story from Charis Cotter Satisfies that family curse, twins are creepy, Irish ghost stories are the best ghost stories kind of itch Also doubles as a love letter to Newfoundland, complete with partridgeberry d


  7. says:

    THE GHOST ROAD tells the tale with engaging text and beautiful illustrations of two girls desperately trying to uncover a secret that has haunted their family for generations Atmospheric and highly suspenseful 5 5Thank you to the author, Penguin Ran


  8. says:

    Why do ghosts haunt Because they have unfinished business Because there is something that keeps them on earth until they have completed their mission Ruth has gone to Newfoundland for the Summer to visit her cousin Ruby, who she discovers looks very mu


  9. says:

    I got a free copy of this book in exchange of an honest review from Penguin Random House I actually enjoyed reading this book from the very beginning I was hooked up the moment I met bought Ruby and Ruth I was also intrigued with Eldred The pacing and plo


  10. says:

    received ARC from publisher in exchange for an honest review ACTUAL 4.75 5Set in 1970 s Newfoundland, Ghost Road is a spooky middle grade tale by Canadian author Charis Cotter Ruth s first adventure to the east coast is full of dark secrets, ghost stories, a


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top